Red Sox 8 vs. Royals 3 – 4/10/10

This is actually an entry off a replay. I have to say, very convenient watching replays on my laptop, but not very efficient. MLB.TV is too complex for the internet I think. Oh well, just have to settle for my mediocre analysis one day late.

Speaking of my mediocre analysis, here it is:

Three things I liked:
1. Josh Beckett. Wow, what a difference on start can make. Threw 76 pitches through the first 6 innings before being worked in the 7th. But man, his stuff was breaking, slicing, and skimming through the strike zone. It looked like his two seam change up came back a foot. Glad to see him get the ball rolling.

2. Facing Zack Greinke. We really gave him no wiggle room. Everyone, even Jacoby Ellsbury, was working the count, and we jumped all over his mistakes (back-to-back home runs in the 5th on consecutive curve balls). Not very often do you have to see Zack Greinke pulled from the game early.

3. Middle infield. Both of our middle infielders got hits (Pedroia even got a home run), both got hit by pitches, and that double play in the 7th inning looked like a rock skimming across a pond. Those two are really going to work well together, and I think they will complement each other every well in the field and at the plate.

Three things I didn’t:
You know what, there wasn’t really anything that I didn’t like. How can you not like 5 HRs and 0 ER from the bullpen?

Take Away:
The offensive firepower that showed up during the game is very encouraging to me. If this is the production we get from our bench players, we are going to have a very good year. Keep watching how Francona uses his lineup card.

Leave a comment